I’ve used reflectors before with video. They are such handy little things! I checked out a reflector from the school, but unfortunately, it was one that only had gold and silver. I used different techniques, but have ordered my own 5-in-1 reflector which should be here soon! I ended up using mostly the gold side since I was shooting a lot outside (the weather was so nice, I had to!)

 

bjamieson_noreflector2

“Dad, No reflector” – 35mm, F5.0, 1/250, October 22, 2016, Sony a7S

This is my dad. My sister held the reflector for the photo below. I tried a variety of positions and poses for my dad, but this seemed to be the most natural for him. The reflector is gold and the technique used is bending the reflector to help soften the light on the side of the my dad’s face.

bjamieson_reflector2

“Dad, With Reflector” – 35mm, F5.0, 1/250, October 22, 2016, Sony a7S, reflector

 

bjamieson_reflector1

“Alyssa, No Reflector” – 40mm, F4.5, 1/250, October 22, 2016, Sony a7S

This is my little sister, Alyssa. I had my oldest brother hold the reflector for the photo below. The reflector color is gold and the technique used is feathering, so Alyssa wasn’t completely blinded by the light. The sun is also behind her to avoid having sharp shadows on her face, while also giving a hairline light.

bjamieson-_noreflector1

“Alyssa, With Reflector” – 40mm, F4.5, 1/250, October 22, 2016, Sony a7S, reflector

 

bjamieson_noreflector3

“Blake, No Reflector” – 35mm, F4.5, 1/200, October 22, 2016, Sony a7S

I got the neighbor kids in on this (then ended up taking photos for their daughter’s homecoming date later on, so those might show up in another blog). This photo and the next were both edited in Photoshop. I added a bit of contrast and adjusted the layers to the background behind Blake.

bjamieson_reflector3

“Blake, With Reflector” – 35mm, F4.5, 1/200, October 22, 2016, Sony a7S, Reflector

 

