bjamieson_metal_wire

“Metal Wire” – F3.5, 28mm, 1/100 sec, October 28, 2016, Sony a7S

Unlike another “black and white” photo that I took of a wagon wheel (further along in this post), there is absolutely no color in this photo. I found a setting in Photoshop that converts everything to black and white. I then added a vignette and cropped it in just a little.

 

bjamieson_red_can

“Red Can” – F5.6, 70mm, 1/80 sec, October 28, 2016, Sony a7S

I took two of this photo, this one was closer zoomed in and I liked it more. In Photoshop, I increased the contrast, and played around with saturation a while before settling it to where it is now.

 

bjamieson_rusty_car

“Ol’ Rusty” – F8, 36mm, 1/60, October 28, 2016, Sony a7S

On my way up to the gallows, I saw this car. I actually recognized it from previous students’ trips to Bannack. Even though I know a lot of students take a picture of this truck, I wanted this photo for myself. In Photoshop, I cropped it just a bit, increased vibrance and contrast, and added an adjustment layer to the sky to darken it a bit.

 

bjamieson_stove_top

“Stove” – F3.5, 28mm, 1/20 sec, October 28, 2016, Sony a7S

This was taken near the end of the day. I loved the peeling paint and the old stove top in this kitchen. In Photoshop, I created an adjustment layer for the window, cropped in a little bit, adjusted the contrast, and levels.

 

bjamieson_wagon_brakes

“Wagon Brake” – F3.5, 28mm, 1/50 sec, October 28, 2016, Sony a7S

I found an old wagon inside a barn and took a few photos of it. This is a close up of what I believe was the parking brake? Any way, I liked it. I didn’t do much to it in editing, just increased contrast in Photoshop.

 

bjamieson_wagon_wheel

“Wagon Wheel” – F3.5, 28mm, 1/200 sec, October 28, 2016, Sony a7S

I didn’t have to use any lighting other than the sunshine coming through the window. In photoshop, I turned the saturation down to give it the appearance of black and white, while not completely taking away all the color.

 

breannejamieson_bannack_houses

“Bannack” – F14, 28mm, 1/200 sec, October 28, 2016, Sony a7S

This was taken at the end of the day, near the river facing the main road. In Photoshop, I wanted the image to really look like an abandoned ghost town, so I decreased saturation, increased contrast, and played around with the levels adjustment layer.

 

breannejamieson_chains

“Chains” – F4, 34mm, 1/50, ISO 400, October 28, 2016, Sony a7S

It was very dark in the barn where I took this photo, but thankfully, my camera is good with keeping high quality while adjusting ISO. I got as close as I could to the chains and got them just right in focus. In Photoshop, I did have to adjust the exposure to bring it up a bit, and increase the contrast.

 

breannejamieson_wood_knot

“Wood Knot” – F3.5, 130mm, 1/400 sec, October 28, 2016, Sony a7S

I actually had to borrow a macro lens for this shot. Thankfully, someone else also had a sony camera, so it was just a quick lens change. This is from the railing in front of the hotel. I adjusted the contrast in Photoshop, and played around with the vibrance.

 

breannejamieson_bannack_houses

“Bannack Houses” – F10, 37mm, 1/125 sec, October 28, 2016, Sony a7S

This picture was taken on the way out of Bannack. This was one of the only houses that, if I didn’t know better, I would have thought someone lived there. I edited this in Photoshop, adjusting the contrast, highlights and shadows, and lowered the vibrance and saturation.

 

bjamieson_hdr_toolroom

“Tool Room” – F3.5, 28mm, HDR, October 28, 2016, Sony a7S, natural lighting

Setting up on a tripod, I took the following three photos with varying shutter speeds. In Photoshop, I created masks for each layer and let different areas with different lighting come through to make everything well lit and exposed as a whole photo.

bjamieson_exposed

F3.5, 28mm, 1/50 sec

bjamieson_over

F3.5, 28mm, 1/15 sec

bjamieson_under

F3.5, 28mm, 1/4000 sec,

 

breannejamieson_hdr_barn

“Barn” – F3.5, 28mm, HDR, October 28, 2016, Sony a7S, natural lighting

As with the previous HDR image of the tools along the wall, I took three different photos and created masks in Photoshop. I wanted to be able to see the sky, as well as inside the barn, so HDR was the way to go.

bjamieson_barn_over

F3.5, 28mm, 1/30 sec

bjamieson_barn_under

F3.5, 28mm, 1/1250 sec

bjamieson_barn

F3.5, 28mm, 1/160 sec

