The trip to Bannack was quite possibly the highlight of the semester. It is a beautiful ghost town in the Montana mountains. By the end of the day, I wanted to stay and take more photos, but I felt exhausted from running around town, crouching, climbing, etc. I hope someday to go back, maybe meet some of the ghosts that still haunt the area.

 

bjamieson_cowboy_gallows

“At the Gallows” – F8, 50mm, 1/160 sec, October 28, 2016, Sony a7S, natural lighting

During free time, I followed a group that had all the Montana men dressed up as cowboys go up to the gallows. It doesn’t look that far, but it is. I took several photos of them by the gallows, and ended up with this one. In Photoshop, I cropped the image a bit, increased the contrast, and changed the levels in the sky to darken things down a bit.

 

bjamieson_cowboy_street

“On the Street” – F5.6, 66mm, 1/200 sec, October 28, 2016, Sony a7S, natural lighting

Again on free-time, I was out on main street and caught this photo. In Photoshop, I adjusted the contrast and cropped it.

 

bjamieson_indian_portrait

“Indian Couple” – F4, 28mm, 1/160 sec, October 28, 2016, Sony a7S, flash trigger

Once I got the hang of working with a flash, I had a blast getting these photos. In Photoshop, I cropped the image, increased the contrast and vibrance.

 

bjamieson_sleeping_portrait

“Quick Nap” – F5.6, 39mm, 1/50 sec, October 28, 2016, Sony a7S, gold reflector and window

This is a genuine quick nap. He sat down in the chair to pose, and then decided to take a break. I edited this in Photoshop, cropped the image, altered the levels, and the contrast. Sister Esplin was holding the gold reflector for this shot.

 

bjamieson_stair_portrait

“Stairs” – F4.5, 47mm, 1/30 sec, October 28, 2016, Sony a7S, natural light

The light for this shot came from two windows on the stairwell. I didn’t do much to edit this in Photoshop, just cropped it a little, increased contrast, and cleared a few large dark spots on her skin.

 

bjamieson_stove_portrait

“Stove Top” – F6.3, 34mm, 1/200 sec, October 28, 2016, Sony a7S, Einstein Flash, color change

This photo came from the second group of flash portraits I took. I used Photoshop to create two layers, one of which I used to blur the image with a Guassian blur, and the second layer I used image apply to even out hard edges on Sarah’s face. The wall color was a very pretty pink, but the problem was that it was almost the exact tone of her face. I used the color changer to change the wall to the color of her eyes.

 

bjamieson_waiting_cowboy

“Waiting Cowboy” – F6.3, 51mm, 1/50 sec, October 28, 2016, Sony a7S, natural light

I had him pose like he was “waiting for the Wells Fargo Wagon to be coming down the street,” I unded up getting a laugh from that, he had been in that play, and I got the photo right as he laughed. In Photoshop, I increased the vibrance and decreased the saturation of the colors to get the effect.

 

bjamieson_woman_scorned

“A Woman Scorned” – F5.6, 28mm, 1/200 sec, October 28, 2016, Sony a7S, octogon flash

I edited this in Photoshop, first altering the exposure. Next, I thought the image overall was flat, so I raised the saturation, which made it look very bright, too bright. To fix it, I decreased the vibrance to help things look less psycadelic.

 

breannejamieson_gun_portrait

“Gunpoint” – F7.1, 69mm, 1/60 sec, October 28, 2016, Sony a7S, natural light

This turned out to be one of my favorite photos of the day. I wanted it too look like he was having a shoot out duel in the street. As I got closer, he held up his gun at me, and I got this shot. In Photoshop, I increased the contrast, and played with the vibrance.

 

breannejamieson_teacher_portrait

“Teacher” – F6.3, 40mm, 1/160 sec, October 28, 2016, Sony a7S, trigger flash

In Photoshop, I touched up the face with a healing brush, using the same method as before with a Gaussian blur. I also increased a bit of the contrast to make everything stand out afterwards.

 

breannejamieson_ghost

“Ghost” – F25, 57mm, 10 sec, October 28, 2016, Sony a7S, natural lighting

This took a couple of tries to get right, especially with the shutter being open for 10 seconds. I was told to hold it open for at least 15, but it made the photo so bright, and I did not have an ND filter. In Photoshop, I decreased the exposure a bit, and increased the contrast.

