Over the Christmas break, I went home to spend the holidays with my family. While there, one of my friends told me that her sister and her husband were in town that week and asked if I could take photos of their family/individual/couple photos. I agreed and we set up a time later that week. It was winter… very winter. Thankfully the sun mostly stayed behind clouds, so no one got blinded by the snow (for the most part.)

I didn’t realize when I left to go meet them that my camera battery was threatening to die at any second. Thankfully, it’s still a pretty new battery, so it still had plenty of juice. I just made sure to turn off my camera after every shot. I ended up having plenty enough battery for the shoot. It also helped that everyone was cold and wanted to get it done as quickly as possible!

 

roberts_family_all_family

“Roberts Family, Location 2” – 34mm, F4.5, 1/400, ISO 125

On our way to the walking path where we took the first set of photos, we saw this backdrop by the side of the road and decided to come back once we were done. We didn’t stay long, everyone was freezing, but I think it turned out to be my favorite spot of the day.

 

roberts_family_eggo_kyle

“Hailey (Eggo) and Kyle” – 37mm, F4.5, 1/400, ISO 125

It started snowing in this photo, you can see it if you look closely. When I took this into Photoshop, I lightened up their faces and added a touch more pink to Hailey’s face. I also darkened the background a bit too to add contrast.

 

roberts_family_eggo_kyle_location1-2

“Eggo and Kyle, Location 1” – 44mm, F22, 1/160,  ISO 125

This is the first location, right off the walking path. I love the frosted needles on the tree, but I’m not so in love with how this shot ended up being. The sun started coming out, and I closed the aperture to help the image not be so blown out, but I should have upped the shutter speed even more instead.

 

roberts_family_hunter

“Hunter, Location 1” – 49mm, F5.6, 1/2000, ISO 125

Poor little Hunter nearly became a cute little popsicle! For this shot, we had him put his jacket back on, and it ended up being the best one out of his individual shots. As far as editing went, I had to touch up his face a little bit, he had had some sort of accident while running around the day before and had a few scratches on his cheek. I also added a mask to the background to help darken it.

 

roberts_family_location1

“Roberts Family, Location 1” – 29mm, F5.6, 1/2000, ISO 125

Again, I really like the tree in this shot, many of the trees that day looked like this. I was only able to take a few photos of this shot as everyone was freezing. The high that day was maybe 10 degrees Fahrenheit, and I was the only one bundled up and cozy! In Photoshop, I had to touch up Hunter’s face again, add more pink to everyone’s faces, and altered the color levels in the background.

 

roberts_family_mama_papa_waffle

“Mama and Papa Waffle” – 37mm, F5.6, 1/2000, ISO 125

I took this shot right as the sun was starting to peak out from behind the cloud. It ended up being a great help to contrast them from the background. I evened out skin tones in Photoshop, and played with the levels to balance out the image.

 

roberts_family_ryan

“Ryan” – 50mm, F5.6, 1/2000, ISO 125

Ryan  couldn’t decide if he wanted the background as the frosted tree from before or have the walking path. Everyone decided that this background had to be used in at least one shot, and Ryan was the only one who did. Good thing too, because this ended up being the best of his shots. At this point, the sun was again trying to decide if it wanted to stay behind the cloud or not, so for this particular shot, I had to darken the background a bit and lighten up Ryan just a bit. I really liked the rim light the sun provided for this shot.

 

roberts_family_waffle_location1

“BreeAnn (Waffle)” – 35mm, F5.6, 1/2000, ISO 125

Out of the photos I took in front of the frosted tree, this one was probably my favorite. I ended up having to add a bit more color to BreeAnn’s face in Photoshop and evening out her skin.

 

roberts_family_waffle-2

“Waffle, Location 2” – 34mm, F4.5, 1/400

This was the last shot I took for the day. We were just about to load back into the cars when I asked BreeAnn to go back into the frame so I could get this shot. I darkened the background just slightly and added a bit more color to BreeAnn’s skin. I also increased the contrast and vibrancy.

 

roberts_family_eggo_hunter2

“Hunter, Location 1” – 34mm, F4.5, 1/400

Poor little Hunter was so cold that this turned out to be the best smile he could muster, but it turned out cute anyway! The sun was diffused behind a thin layer of clouds to give a soft light across his face. In Photoshop, I touched up some scratches on his face and increased vibrancy and contrast, as well as played around with some of the levels to brighten up Hunter and darken the background just slightly.

