I’m getting close to being done with shooting, so now that I have a lot of files to deal with, it’s important to make sure I know which clips are which, where they are, etc. Naming files can be a long and boring process, but it’s vital to making the editing process work smoothly. The way to help the naming process is to abbreviate and number.

For example, some of the clips in my project are called JH OTS CU. This may seem like jibberish, but it tells me where the shot was taken (JH=Jacob’s House), what the shot is focused on (OTS=over the shoulder, looking in the cupboard), and what type of shot it is (CU=close up). If there are more than one take of this shot, add a number. Use whatever style or coding in a project, just make sure you know your code. Just do what makes sense.

Another thing to help organization with files is to make sure you name your files BEFORE bringing them into Premiere, that way, if you do need to rename them, links won’t get broken between the project and the clip.

Also, it is important to make sure you create a system of file organization for your project. Like below:

In the folder for “Sweet Addiction, I have four (currently five now) sub folders for each. At this point in organization, I prefer icons for the folders and files instead of the detail view format.

Within the video folder, I have more sub folders to continue the organization. This one above is B-roll. This is the last tier of folders that stay with the icon view. This same organization (if you look above at the first photo) exists within the Premeire project itself. It just may be hard to see because my screen is really small on my laptop, so I have to squish a lot of my windows in Premeire to be able to work in different areas.

Here are the actual clips for one of the B-roll folders. These are clips for the opening sequence. All together, these clips edited (so far) make up about 45 seconds on the timeline.

On a project this big, especially with so many different aspects to bring together into one timeline, I have actually created a bin for sequences. In these sequences, I’ve edited interviews or sequences so that I  have enough room to move and test things out. Once I’m happy with how things look, I’ll take the clip or clips I want and drop them into my master sequence.

Organization may take a long time to set up, or at least it may feel that way, but as long as you do it in a way that makes sense, it’s well worth it in the end.

